American Ballet Theatre’s The Nutcracker

EXPIRED

American Ballet Theatre in The Nutcracker.

Tickets start at $25


Magical toy soldiers, sparkling snowflakes, mischievous mice, and all the enchanting inhabitants of E.T.A. Hoffmann’s whimsical world return to BAM for the winter holidays in this acclaimed production of The Nutcracker, presented by the renowned American Ballet Theatre and choreographed by ABT Artist-in-Residence Alexei Ratmansky.

Performed with a live orchestra, together with extraordinary sets and costumes by Tony Award-winner Richard Hudson (The Lion King), The Nutcracker is bound to be a treasured memory for years to come. In the debut of this new version in 2010 , The New York Times praised, “American Ballet Theatre has a production like no other, made with complete theatrical authority from first to last. The poetry of Alexei Ratmansky’s vision is very striking. I’m impatient to see it again.”

Visit The Nutcracker E-Storybook for photos, video and more! 


BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

30 Lafayette Avenue

(Between St. Felix Street and Ashland Place)

Brooklyn, NY 11217

(718) 636-4100




  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Shakespeare’s Sonnets

    Tue, Oct 07, 2014 - Sun, Oct 12, 2014

    Iambic pentameter gets a surreal makeover in this pop-opera romp through Shakespeare’s sonnets from director Robert Wilson and ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Birds With Skymirrors

    Wed, Nov 19, 2014 - Sat, Nov 22, 2014

    From atop an atoll in Kiribati—an island nation in the South Pacific poised to disappear forever beneath the ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • L.A. Dance Project

    Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - Sat, Oct 18, 2014

    Founded as a collective two years ago by newly appointed Paris Opera Ballet director and former New York ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Kontakthof

    Thu, Oct 23, 2014 - Sun, Nov 02, 2014

    Marking the 30th anniversary of its New York debut at BAM, Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch returns to Brooklyn ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Sadeh21

    Wed, Nov 12, 2014 - Sat, Nov 15, 2014

    Ohad Naharin is one of the most original choreographic minds of our time—a modern guru whose pioneering dance ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Carolina Chocolate Drops

    Thu, Sep 18, 2014

    After their BAM debut in the 2014 Winter/Spring Season, the Carolina Chocolate Drops return for one night only. ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Devendra Banhart, Stephin Merritt & Iron and Wine

    Fri, Sep 19, 2014

    These versatile and prolific artists perform an evening of solo sets showcasing songs from their widely acclaimed recordings ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Kronos Quartet, Merchant, Giddens, Amidon, and Chaney

    Sat, Sep 20, 2014

    Delving into the American and international folk songbook, Kronos Quartet teams up for the first time with four ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Tweedy

    Tue, Sep 23, 2014

    Jeff Tweedy, founder of the pioneering Chicago rock band Wilco, makes his BAM debut as part of Nonesuch ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Rokia Traoré, Toumani Diabaté, and Sidiki Diabaté

    Wed, Sep 24, 2014

    Both singer and multi-instrumentalist Rokia Traoré and master kora player Toumani Diabaté with his son Sidiki Diabaté ignite ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Caetano Veloso

    Thu, Sep 25, 2014 - Fri, Sep 26, 2014

    Veloso and trio will perform original songs from his most recent album, the Latin Grammy Award–winning Abraçaço, which Nonesuch ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Robert Plant and the Sensational Space Shifters

    Sat, Sep 27, 2014 - Sun, Sep 28, 2014

    Legendary British singer-songwriter and Led Zeppelin alum Robert Plant, newly signed to Nonesuch Records, comes to BAM for ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • The Etudes

    Fri, Dec 05, 2014 - Sat, Dec 06, 2014

    In 1994, Philip Glass resolved to become a better pianist, setting to work on a series of short ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Exposed: Songs for Unseen Warhol Films

    Thu, Nov 06, 2014 - Sat, Nov 08, 2014

    The Andy Warhol Museum and Dean WarehamThe films of Andy Warhol are provocative milestones of underground cinema, flaunting ...

Updated: