La Belle et la Bête

Thu, Nov 21, 2013, 7:30 pm

labellaetlabet

Season Ticket Price: $14—48 Full Price Tickets: $20—60



A disfigured recluse hides his pain in a lonely mansion, until a beautiful artist appears, nursing her own heartache. In this ravishing retelling of Beauty and the Beast, acclaimed creators Michel Lemieux and Victor Pilon transform a classic fairy tale into a grand feat of technological daring, charting breathtaking new territory in live performance.

Actors interact seamlessly with sophisticated projected imagery as a mercurial dream world unfolds. A ghostlike horse charges through a tangled forest of thorns, a mirror breaks in an explosion of virtual glass, and a phantom moves in for his disembodied kiss, hypnotizing us with this story about the redemptive power of love.


BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

30 Lafayette Avenue

(Between St. Felix Street and Ashland Place)

Brooklyn, NY 11217

(718) 636-4100

About this organization

BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

This is the main venue of Brooklyn Academy of Music and hosts dance, theater and music events, including avant garde productions of modern operas.




  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Shakespeare’s Sonnets

    Tue, Oct 07, 2014 - Sun, Oct 12, 2014

    Iambic pentameter gets a surreal makeover in this pop-opera romp through Shakespeare’s sonnets from director Robert Wilson and ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Birds With Skymirrors

    Wed, Nov 19, 2014 - Sat, Nov 22, 2014

    From atop an atoll in Kiribati—an island nation in the South Pacific poised to disappear forever beneath the ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • L.A. Dance Project

    Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - Sat, Oct 18, 2014

    Founded as a collective two years ago by newly appointed Paris Opera Ballet director and former New York ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Kontakthof

    Thu, Oct 23, 2014 - Sun, Nov 02, 2014

    Marking the 30th anniversary of its New York debut at BAM, Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch returns to Brooklyn ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Sadeh21

    Wed, Nov 12, 2014 - Sat, Nov 15, 2014

    Ohad Naharin is one of the most original choreographic minds of our time—a modern guru whose pioneering dance ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Tweedy

    Tue, Sep 23, 2014

    Jeff Tweedy, founder of the pioneering Chicago rock band Wilco, makes his BAM debut as part of Nonesuch ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Rokia Traoré, Toumani Diabaté, and Sidiki Diabaté

    Wed, Sep 24, 2014

    Both singer and multi-instrumentalist Rokia Traoré and master kora player Toumani Diabaté with his son Sidiki Diabaté ignite ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Caetano Veloso

    Thu, Sep 25, 2014 - Fri, Sep 26, 2014

    Veloso and trio will perform original songs from his most recent album, the Latin Grammy Award–winning Abraçaço, which Nonesuch ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Robert Plant and the Sensational Space Shifters

    Sat, Sep 27, 2014 - Sun, Sep 28, 2014

    Legendary British singer-songwriter and Led Zeppelin alum Robert Plant, newly signed to Nonesuch Records, comes to BAM for ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • The Etudes

    Fri, Dec 05, 2014 - Sat, Dec 06, 2014

    In 1994, Philip Glass resolved to become a better pianist, setting to work on a series of short ...
  • More events at BAM Howard Gilman Opera House

  • Exposed: Songs for Unseen Warhol Films

    Thu, Nov 06, 2014 - Sat, Nov 08, 2014

    The Andy Warhol Museum and Dean WarehamThe films of Andy Warhol are provocative milestones of underground cinema, flaunting ...

Updated: