Free admission (all visitors, all hours)

This streaming premiere is free with a suggested donation of $10.


“Reparations NOW!” is Ensemble Pi’s new project, inspired by Ta-Nehisi Coates’ congressional testimony and Ibram X. Kendi’s best-seller book, “How to Be an Antiracist” – both of which offer powerful and compelling arguments in support of reparations for the African-American community. Focusing on social justice, the new-music collective Ensemble Pi has presented concerts in solidarity with Black Lives Matter and opposing police brutality and systemic racism since 2015. This new project features works from a diverse group of talented composers, including world premieres by Allison Loggins-Hull, Angélica Negrón, and Trevor Weston, and a composition by Courtney Bryan —all commissioned by Ensemble Pi. It also includes Georg Friedrich Haas’ I can’t breathe (In memoriam Eric Garner), and a musical improvisation, Requiem for Elijah, based on the last words of Elijah McClain.

Reparations NOW! is presented by The Center at West Park, where Ensemble Pi are artists-in-residence this fall. The concert premiere will be streamed on Thursday, October 29 at 7 pm. This streaming premiere is free with a suggested donation of $10.


Courtney Bryan: Elegy (2018)
Piano, clarinet, violin, cello

Georg Friedrich Haas: I can’t breathe (In memoriam Eric Garner) (2014)
Solo trumpet

Allison Loggins-Hull: Pattern (2020, World Premiere)
With text from Michelle Alexander’s The New Jim Crow
Piano, flute, clarinet, percussion, violin, cello

Angélica Negrón: Conversación a distancia (2020, World Premiere)
Piano, clarinet, percussion, violin, cello, accordion

Trevor Weston: Pinkster Kings (2020, World Premiere)
Piano, clarinet, percussion, violin, cello, narrator and conductor

Requiem for Elijah (2020)
Improvisation for any combination of instruments and/or voices, based on Elijah McClain’s last words.

Idith Meshulam (piano), Allison Loggins- Hull (flute), Moran Katz (clarinet), Wayne Dumaine (trumpet), Bill Trigg (percussion), Airi Yoshioka (violin), Alexis Gerlach (cello), Angélica Negrón (accordion), and Damian Norfleet (narrator), with Trevor Weston (conductor).