Free admission (all visitors, all hours)


On Tuesday, January 26 at 7 p.m. the MetLiveArts commission presents the world premiere of “They Will Take My Island,” which features unreleased scenes and highly personal short films by Oscar-nominated filmmaker Atom Egoyan (The Sweet Hereafter) set to original musical scores by Armenian American composer Mary Kouyoumdjian, will stream on The Met’s websiteYouTube channel and Facebook.

“They Will Take My Island” includes footage from Egoyan’s films “Ararat and A Portrait of Arshile,” and Kouyoumdjian’s new score is performed by JACK Quartet and Silvana Quartet. Egoyan’s films and excerpts on the life of abstract painter Arshile Gorky are infused with themes of family and immigration.

The performance is free and will remain online indefinitely. It is the first performance of the 2021 MetLiveArts virtual season, which will be announced in full at a later date.

They Will Take My Island
Atom Egoyan, films and direction
Mary Kouyoumdjian, musical composition

Score performed by
JACK Quartet:
Christopher Otto, violin
Austin Wulliman, violin
John Pickford Richards, viola
Jay Campbell, cello

Silvana Quartet:
Andie Tanning, violin
Nicole Sharlow, violin
Gillian Gallagher, viola
Maria Jeffers, cello