Free admission (all visitors, all hours)


The Naumburg Orchestral Concerts announced today that their 116th Season will be returning to the newly renovated Bandshell. All concerts will take place at 7:30 PM at the Naumburg Bandshell (Concert Ground, near W 72nd St, New York, NY 1001). The concert is free but seats are allocated online due to COVID-19 restrictions at the time of announcement. Visit for more information. The 2021 line-up features collaborations and exuberant performances from both fresh and established artists. Following their recent collaboration on Beethoven & Brahms Violin Concertos, Brooklyn-based orchestral collective The Knights join Grammy Award-winning violinist Gil Shaham to open the series with an exciting and explorative program. This isn’t the first time the artists have collaborated; they recently released an album of the same repertoire (June 15). With their debut album out for release later this year, the Ulysses Quartet will join nine-time Grammy Award-winners Emerson String Quartet for a multi-generational and high-spirited performance (June 29). Boston-based chamber orchestra A Far Cry returns to the concert series with a characteristically energetic and innovative performance (July 6). Making their Naumburg debut this season is the acclaimed San Francisco-based Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra (PBO), under the direction of their new Music Director and harpsichordist Richard Egarr. Considered the most versatile orchestra of its kind, performing on period instruments, PBO is the largest early music ensemble in the United States. They will perform a Baroque program of works by Henry Purcell, featuring soprano Rowan Pierce with selections from Fairy Queen, as well as works from John Blow, Christopher Gibbons and Matthew Locke (July 20). Scheduling only a handful of concerts annually, this is a rare opportunity to hear East Coast Chamber Orchestra (ECCO). Featuring pianist Shai Wosner, known for his artistic and musical integrity and penchant for eclectic pairings of diverse repertoire, the dynamic collective will close out the season with a vibrant and unique program that promises to speak to all audiences (August 3). Find full program information for all five ensembles below. When the decision was made in May 2020 to cancel the summer 2020 series due to the pandemic, Christopher W. London, President of The Naumburg Orchestra Concerts, and the Board of Directors chose to honor their artist contracts by paying the agreed-upon fees. In a statement issued in May 2020, London said “at a time when the country’s performing artists are experiencing unprecedented financial hardship, and thousands upon thousands of public performances have been canceled, our board felt strongly that we needed to show our genuine support for the musical community.” Now moving into the summer 2021 when many fellow New Yorkers are vaccinated and COVID-19 cases have declined in the state, the New York Governor lifted many of the pandemic restrictions. From May 10, the limit for outdoor social gatherings increased, but guests are required to take necessary precautions and continue to social distance as well as reserve tickets in advance online. Visit for more information.  Tuesday, June 15, 20217:30 PM
The Knights

George T. Walker, (1922- 2018), Lyric for Strings, (1946)
Aoife O’Donovan, (b 1982), America, Come-Intermission-Ludwig van Beethoven, (1770-1827), Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61, (1806), Gil Shaham, violinAllegro man non troppo
Rondo: allegro
Tuesday, June 29, 20217:30 PM
Ulysses & the Emerson String QuartetRichard Strauss, (1864-1949), Sextet from Capriccio, Op. 85
(performed by the Ulysses Quartet with Lawrence Dutton, viola and Paul Watkins, cello)Anton Bruckner, (1824-1896), String Quintet in F major, WAB 112III. Adagio, G-flat major, common time
(performed by the Emerson String Quartet with Colin Brookes, viola)-Intermission-Dmitri Shostakovich, (1906-1975), Two Pieces for String Octet, Op. 11Prelude. AdagioScherzo. Allegro molto(performed with the Ulysses Quartet playing the first parts)Felix Mendelssohn, (1809-1847), Octet in E-flat major, Op. 20Allegro moderato ma con fuoco (E-flat major)Andante (C minor)Scherzo: Allegro leggierissimo (G minor)Presto (E-flat major) Tuesday, July 6, 20217:30 PM
A Far Cry Edvard Grieg, (1843-1907), Holberg Suite, Op. 40, (1884)Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges, (1745-99), Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat Major, Op. 13 No. 1., (1778)Jessie Montgomery, (b. 1981), Strum, (2012)-Intermission-Jessie Montgomery, (b. 1981), Source Code, (2013)Arvo Pärt, (b. 1935), Silouan’s Song, (1991)

Teresa Carreño, (1853-1917), Serenade for Strings in E-flat Major, (1895)Tuesday, July 20, 2021, 7:30 PM
Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra (PBO)
Richard Egarr, conductor and harpsichordist
Rowan Pierce, sopranoChristopher Gibbons, (1615/20-76), Fantasy in A minorJohn Blow, (1649-1708), 3 Songs“Welcome, Welcome Every Guest” from Amphion Anglicus
“Peaceful Is he and most secure”
“Lovely Selina”Matthew Locke, (1621-1677), Curtain tune from The TempestHenry Purcell, (1659-95), 3 songs“The Blessed Virgin’s Expostulation”, Z. 196
“Music for a while”, Z. 583
“Bess of Bedlam”, Z. 370Henry Purcell, Chaconne from King Arthur – Intermission –Henry PurcellFairy Queen Selection for soprano and orchestra3.  Second Music: Aire
4.  Rondeau
20.“If Love’s a sweet Passion” (Rowan Pierce, soprano)
22. Dance for the Fairies
27. Dance of the Haymakers
49. Monkey’s Dance
30. Symphony 2
43. The Plaint: “O let me weep!” (Rowan Pierce, soprano)
29. Third Act Tune: Hornpipe
18. A Dance of the Followers of Night
14. “See, even Night herself” (Rowan Pierce, soprano)
9.   Prelude
51. “Hark! the Echoing air” (Rowan Pierce, soprano)
57. Chaconne Tuesday, August 3, 2021, 7:30 PM
East Coast Chamber Orchestra (ECCO)  W.A. Mozart, (1756-91), Piano Quartet in G minor, K.478, (1785), arranged for piano and strings by Shai Wosner, Shai Wosner, pianoAllegro
RondoHanna Benn, (b. 1988), Where Springs Not Fail, (2016)– Intermission –Osvaldo Golijov, (b. 1960), Last Round, (1996)W.A. Mozart, (1756-91), Piano Concerto No.12 in A major, K.414, (1782),
Shai Wosner, pianoAllegro
Rondeau. Allegretto