The Poetry Society of America offers three weekly readings as well as numerous writing workshops, a bimonthly newsletter and an annual literary magazine, The World.

Founded in 1910, the society’s members have included the poets Robert Frost, Langston Hughes, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Marianne Moore, Stanley Kunitz and Wallace Stevens among others. Current member include John Ashbery, Louise Glück, Rita Dove, Brenda Hillman, Yusef Komunyakaa, Sharon Olds, Robert Pinsky and James Tate.

As early as 1915, the society began to sponsor a series of juried awards honoring innovation and stylistic mastery in the work of American poets both young and old. Over the past century these prizes have been conferred upon Frank Bidart, John Berryman, Elizabeth Bishop, Lucille Clifton, Robert Creeley, e.e. cummings, Brenda Hillman, Denise Levertov and others. Jurors have included the poets Ai, Robert Creeley, Carolyn Forché, Jorie Graham, Seamus Heaney, Susan Howe, Heather McHugh, Alberto R’os, Sonia Sanchez, John Yau and others. Winners are honored at an annual awards ceremony held in New York each spring.

In 1992 the society inaugurated its Poetry in Motion series, which places poems with an eye-catching graphic style in buses and subways.