A profile of violinist Chad Hoopes, winner of a 2017 Avery Fisher Career Grant Award.

View Transcript

Good evening, and welcome to 'NYC-ARTS.'

I'm Paula Zahn at the Tisch WNET Studios at Lincoln Center.

The ceremony for this year's Avery Fisher Career Grant Awards took place in March at the Jerome L. Greene Performance Space at WQXR.

These individual grants of $25,000 give professional assistance and recognition to talented instrumentalists who have great potential for solo careers.

This year, there were four recipients -- violinists Chad Hoopes... and Stephen Waarts, pianist Haochen Zhang, as well as the Dover Quartet.

♪♪ Chad Hoopes began playing violin in Minneapolis and Cleveland before going on to study at the Kronberg Academy in Germany.

Last year, he was the first artist-in-residence at the Munich Symphony Orchestra.

Chad is in great demand on both sides of the Atlantic.

He frequently performs with the Chamber Music Society, too, right here at Lincoln Center, and with orchestras and chamber music groups throughout Europe.

Receiving the Avery Fisher Career Grant is an absolute honor, and I'm humbled.

And at the same time, it's an exciting stepping stone in my career and in my life, and I owe so much of this honor to the people who have helped me get to this point -- my parents, my sisters, my friends, my teachers, my manager.

I have two older sisters.

They were a little bit older than me and playing, and I just was desperate for a violin.

So I started playing when I was about 3 1/2, and here we are.

♪♪ I started with Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, the Two program, a couple of years ago.

Up to this point, I've had some of the most beautiful musical experiences collaborating with the other CMS artists.

♪♪ I am using this grant, actually, to purchase -- to help purchase this violin, which is made by Sam Zygmuntowicz, and he actually lives in Brooklyn, and he's a living maker and one of the greatest living makers right now for violins.

I kind of fell in love with it the first time I played it, not knowing the history of the violin.

He made this violin for Isaac Stern.

The Prokofiev 'Five Melodies' is originally written for piano and voice, as a vocalese type of piece.

♪♪ ♪♪ It's a very collaborative experience.

♪♪ ♪♪ I will be playing with David Fung.

He is not only the pianist whom I collaborate with but also a dear friend and, actually, a beautiful pianist, and it's really a pleasure to make music with him.

It's a five-movement work, all very different kind of characters and colors in each of the movements.

The first movement is a soaring kind of melody and with sort of a dramatic climax.

♪♪ ♪♪ The second movement is very searching.

♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ The second movement ends in a very mystical way, and then the third movement is a complete surprise with this conversation between the violin and the piano.

♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ The fourth movement is the one that's really kind of charming and kind of trickster.

♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ It ends with harmonics, which is kind of like it evaporates into nothing.

♪♪ ♪♪ The last movement is very kind of soaring and beautiful.

♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ I just feel like the atmosphere that we have in this piece is so magical, and that's why I love it.

♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ ♪♪ [ Cheers and applause ]